Sunday, September 11, 2016


2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup field

 2016 Chase field 

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular season came to an end Saturday night at Richmond, and the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup field was set.
All 13 race winners from the regular season qualified into the postseason and three drivers made it in on points. Kyle Larson, Chris Buescher, Austin Dillon and Chase Elliott will all be making their first Chase appearances when the playoffs open next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway. Kyle Busch is the defending series champion and top seed heading into the 10-race elimination style postseason.

Here's who comprises the field as NASCAR announced the seeding and points shortly after the end of Saturday night's Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond International Raceway.

1. Kyle Busch, No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (four wins, 2012 points)
2. Brad Keselowski, No. 2 Team Penske Ford (four wins, 2012 points)

3. Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (three wins, 2009 points)
4. Kevin Harvick, No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet (two wins, 2006 points)
5. Carl Edwards, No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (two wins, 2006 points)
6. Martin Truex Jr., No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota (two wins, 2006 points)
7. Matt Kenseth, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (two wins, 2006 points)
8. Jimmie Johnson, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet (two wins, 2006 points)

9. Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske Ford (one win, 2003 points)
10. Kyle Larson, No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Chevrolet (one win, 2003 points)
11. Tony Stewart, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet (one win, 2003 points)
12. Kurt Busch, No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet (one win, 2003 points)
13. Chris Buescher, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford (one win, 2003 points)
14. Chase Elliott, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet (on points, 2000 points)
15. Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet (on points, 2000 points)
16. Jamie McMurray, No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Chevrolet (on points, 2000 points)

No comments:

Post a Comment